Nelly Uchendu Biography, Career And Songs

Lady With Golden Voice

Nelly Uchendu
Nelly Uchendu

Nelly Uzonna Edith Uchendu, MON (1950 – 2005) was a Nigerian singer, actress and songwriter. Born in 1950 in Osete Umuchu, a town in Aguata local government area of Anambra State, Eastern Nigeria, Uchendu started singing at an early age. She was revered for modernizing the traditional Igbo folklore music upon the release of her debut album “Love Nwantinti”  in 1967.


Nelly Uchendu started her professional music career with Professor Sonny Oti’s music group under which she flourished using her vocals.

In 1976, her music career shot to limelight following the release of the classic titled “Love Nwatinti” EP under Homzy Sounds records label. She later went on to release “Waka”, “Akabueze” and “Mama Hausa” which further established her in the Nigeria music industry.

Her music career saw her recording in several genres of music including Igbo highlife, pop and gospel music which she did in the later part of her career.

Uchendu has a successful career which earned her so many awards and top notch performances outside Nigeria, most notably in London, United Kingdom alongside Sir Warrior and his Oriental Brothers during the 1980s.

Nelly Uchendu has over 10 successful albums to her name including:

In recognition of her contributions to music in Nigeria, Uchendu received the national honour of “Member of the Order of the Niger MON” by the then former Nigerian civil president Shehu Shagari in 1980.

One of her composition titled “Ikemefuna’s Song” was used as a soundtrack in a 1980s film adaptation of Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart.

Uchendu also featured in a few successful movies as an actress including Nneka The Pretty Serpent (1994) and Things Fall Apart (1986).

Nelly Uchendu Songs.

Here is a comprehensive list of Nelly Uchendu songs:

  1. Love Nwantiti
  2. Yeghe Yeghe
  3. Ogadili Gi Nma
  4. Nga Meji Uwa
  5. Udo Ego
  6. Elozekwanna Nwanne Gi
  7. Akwa Alili
  8. Chukwu Nyelum Ono
  9. Onye Oma Zoro
  10. Okwu Di Nlo
  11. Kpokube Olisa
  12. Ada Eze
  13. Onye Nwulu Ozuluike
  14. Cheta Tikue Jehovah
  15. Mamausa Pts 1 & 2
  16. Ekwensu Adago
  17. Onye Oma Theresa
  18. Love Nwantiti (feat. Mike Obianwu)
  19. Oma Bu Nwunyem
  20. Omalugo
  21. Nwa Bialu Ije
  22. Chukwu Nyelum Onu
  23. Akabueze
  24. You Made Me Love You
  25. I Can Hear Your Song
  26. I Believe
  27. I’ll Be Near
  28. Can’t Part From You
  29. Wakabout
  30. Onye Oma Zoro (feat. Mike Obianwu)
  31. Onye Oma Theresa (feat. Mike Obianwu)
  32. Omalengwo (feat. Mike Obianwu)
  33. Ezigbo Dim
  34. Show Me (Nigeria)
  35. Green Eagles Special 
  36. Yeghe Yeghe
  37. Oga Adili Gi Mma

Download Nelly Uchendu Songs mp3 here.


Nelly Uchendu was married to Obika Ikpeze.


Nelly Uchendu died on 12 April 2005 in a hospital in Enugu State, Nigeria after a reported cancer-related illness. She was aged 55.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Patty Obasi

    Patty Obasi Biography, Career, Family And Songs

    Anakuzili Chukwu Olu

    Vicky Eboh – Anakuzili Chukwu Olu